Cosi Fan Tutte

Cosi_fan_tutte_-_first_performance Così fan tutte, ossia La scuola degli amanti (Thus Do They All, or The School For Lovers)
Così fan tutte is one of the three Mozart operas for which Da Ponte wrote the libretto. Composed: 1790, Language: Italian
The artificial comedy, verging at times on the farcical, is set to apt and witty music, with a strong element of parody but also of a sentimentality which is constantly spilling over into genuine and touching sentiment.” quote by Sir Alexander Morley, London, 1970
I watched this opera in California back in 1998 and I have to admit it moved me and was funny. To listen to the trio wishing the men safe journey was gorgeous. Something about the vocals in opera has always impressed me.
The first performance of Mozart’s setting took place at the Burgtheater in Vienna on January 26, 1790. After World War II, it regained its place in the standard operatic repertoire. It is frequently performed and appears as number fifteen on Opera America’s list of the 20 most-performed operas in North America.
It revolves around men leaving for the military and about the women staying home (finding love, temptation, waiting for their men to return).

3 Responses to “Cosi Fan Tutte”

  1. Wonderful! I love the opera music, and I completely agree with you. I do not understand why I love it so much. I love the tone, I guess. 🙂 You supplied enough information to answer all of the questions. I did want to say the woman in yellow in your video is amazing. I love how opera singers are known for their voice and wonderful wardrobe. Also, I like how you related the piece you chose back to your personal life. I too have seen this opera when I was living in New York. Not only is the singing incredible, but the humor they play into their “songs” always fascinated me. The story line makes me cry just because my father is in the military and was always gone. Watching my mom struggle and do for us and go without, and then on top of that not seeing her husband for years at a time starts to wear down on you as a person. Great job on your blog! It is nice to see others relating back to their pieces.

    • Ahh! Another note, I see you did not relate the piece back to middle class! Thought I would let you know! Again, great job!

  2. In That Location may be something in the vaccine mass
    media the initiative and terminal use? Encounter more please depict type of exercise and frequency.
    If yes, see your doc for these hurts?

Leave a comment